HUBZone Contractors National Council
The HUBZone Council is a non-profit trade association providing information and support for
companies and professionals participating in the Historically Underutilized Business Zone (HUBZone) Contracting Program.


HUBZone Map

 Is Your Company Located in a HUBZone?


HUBZone qualification is generally determined by income levels, unemployment rates,
Difficult Development Area status, base closure status, and/or Indian Land status.

Data that determine whether an area qualifies for HUBZone status include
income and unemployment information from a variety of sources. 

Most qualified areas are determined by county (in non-metropolitan areas)
or census tract (usually in metropolitan areas). 

The 2018 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) includes a number of changes to the HUBZone Program,
the most significant of which impacts the HUBZone Map.
 The NDAA freezes the current HUBZone Map, which means that any areas that have been redesignated
to expire in 2018, 2019, or 2020 will remain HUBZones at least until December 31, 2021.
Base Relocation & Closure areas (BRACs) now enjoy HUBZone status for eight years, in increase from five years. 
In addition, HUBZone status has been granted to adjacent census tracts and non-metropolitan counties. 

Some Disaster Areas can become HUBZones:  Major Disaster Areas will be treated as HUBZones
for a period of five years.  This applies to census tracts and non-metropolitan counties
located in “major disaster” areas, if the census tract or non-metropolitan counties has lost its HUBZone eligibility
within the past five years or will lose its HUBZone eligibility within 2 years after the major disaster has been declared.
 Catastrophic Incident Areas will be treated as HUBZones for a period of 10 years. 
This applies to census tracts and non-metropolitan counties located in areas where catastrophic incidents occurred,
if such census tract or non-metropolitan counties lost its HUBZone eligibility within the past 5 years
or will lose its HUBZone eligibility within 2 years after the catastrophic incident has been declared.


HUBZone Map Qualification Data Comes from a Variety of Sources
Census Tracts Housing & Urban Development (HUD) adjusted every 5 years
Non-Metropolitan Counties

Bureau of Labor Statistics (employment)
Census Bureau (income)
adjusted annually

Indian Land Bureau of Indian Affairs adjusted as necessary
Base Closure Areas Defense adjusted as necessary
Difficult Development Areas Housing & Urban Development (HUD) adjusted as necessary
Major Disaster Areas White House adjusted as necessary
Since multiple agencies are responsible for providing updated information concerning the HUBZone Map, updates are often performed multiple times per year.  This is particularly the case with non-metropolitan county HUBZones, which have three types of qualification data generated by three different agencies.  The Small Business Administration is responsible for consolidating the information and maintaining the accuracy of the HUBZone Map.




As of 2017, of the 3,242 counties in the
United States and its territories:

• 1,208 (37%) are metropolitan counties that are not
HUBZone-qualified but many of them contain
individual census tracts that are qualified.

• 1,257 (39%) are non-metropolitan counties that
are not HUBZone-qualified.
• 581 (18%) are non-metropolitan counties

that are HUBZone-qualified.
• 196 (6%) are non-metropolitan counties
that are redesignated HUBZones
that could expire in 2020,

unless new data requalifies them 
to remain in the Program.



For detailed listings of the
current HUBZone status of
specific counties & census tracts,
visit the

SBA HUBZone Map.

Census Tracts

As of 2017, of the 74,002 census tracts
in the United States and its territories:

• 54,535 (74%) are not HUBZone-qualified.

• 17,210 (23%) are HUBZone-qualified.

• 2,257 (3%) are redesignated HUBZones
that could expire on January 1, 2020,
unless new data requalifies them
to remain in the Program.


What is a Qualified Census Tract (QCT)?

The US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) designates Qualified Census Tracts (QCTs) for purposes of the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) program. The LIHTC program is defined in Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. The LIHTC is a tax incentive intended to increase the availability of affordable rental housing.

The LIHTC statute provides two criteria for QCT eligibility. A census tract must have either:

  1. a poverty rate of at least 25 percent; or
  2. 50 percent or more of its householders must have incomes below 60 percent of the area median household income. The area corresponds to a metropolitan or a non-metropolitan area.

The Census Bureau defines the boundaries of Census tracts in cooperation with local authorities every ten years for the purposes of the decennial census and, following a public comment period, has completed defining tract boundaries for the 2010 Census. Note that when census tract boundaries are set, they remain unchanged for the next decade. Thus, tract boundaries will not be changed until the 2020 Decennial Census.

A QCT may be located in a non-metropolitan county or a metropolitan area.



HUBZone Contractors National Council

PO Box 355 Oakland, MD 21550


phone: 240-442-1787

© 2009-2018 HUBZone Contractors National Council

Membership Management by Memberize™
© 2001-2018 Hill Country Technologies, LLC. All rights reserved.
Your session is about to expire...
Login Required
Admin Order Form